Dinner · Oriental · pasta · Uncategorized

Poor Man Pad Thai

Ok so I’ve been thinking about it and I have know idea where I came up with this recipe from. I’m sure like most recipes I end up putting together the base came from some pinterest post that I saw a few years ago. Either way I LOVE Pad Thai and though this recipe is really nothing like real pad thai it is an ok substitute when you don’t have the money to go get the real thing.  IMG_20151228_120734292.jpg

The Hubby and I have had this many, many times and it seems to have become one of those “I don’t know what I want, what do we have, oh I could make Pad Thai” kind of meals.  Really cheap and though unless you do a fair amount of Asian cooking you probably won’t have everything on hand if you buy the few exotic things you will probably keep them in your pantry for a few years or more before you run out.

Here we go:

Poor Man Pad Thai

Ingredients: (this is for a serving of 1)

  • 1 Package Ramen Noodles (you only need the noodles so store the flavor packet away for a soup or something)
  • 1 Tbs Fish Sauce
  • 1 Tbs Crunchy Peanut Butter (you can use the regular if you prefer)
  • 1 tsp Sesame Seed Oil (you can use veggie oil but it doesn’t taste quite as good)
  • 1 tsp Apple Juice
  • 1Tbs Sugar
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes (this is to taste you can do more or less if you like)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tbs Cilantro (Optional)
  • Bean Sprouts (Optional)

Directions:IMG_20151228_115619513_HDR.jpg

Boil your Ramen Noodles in a small sauce pan and then drain them.  IMG_20151228_115623617.jpg

Scramble your egg with a little salt and pepper. Then if you’re using the cilantro and bean sprouts toss them in with the eggs to warm them up.

Add the egg mixture into the noodles and stir.

In a small dish add the remaining ingredients. At this point I like to put the sauce mix into the microwave for about 30 seconds because it helps to be able to mix the peanut butter in.

Stir it up until it’s combined and then pour it over the noodles and everything else and mix around until everything is a nice jumbled mess of flavors.

That’s it you’re done!! Easy quick and pretty inexpensive!!!

 

Leave a comment